On My Way - Book 1 - One Bad Day

Chapter 1

One more flight. The tremor again. I squeeze my hand into a fist before anyone notices, especially me. I’m almost home. The whole trip so far is uneventful. Good even. I cleared up the decision in Baltimore—business as usual, and on the last leg back to San Diego.

Denver is the usual hustle and bustle I notice as I sit in the black Naugahyde chair. Are they still made of Naugahyde? The chrome frame doesn’t indicate. Certainly, can’t be leather. The others are all plugged in, and I will be as well as soon as I find my earbuds. I can listen better to Emily that way. I can hear beyond her voice to the tenor of her mood. She’s done so well the past month. Her anxiety is finally under control, or so I hope. The boys even sound like they’re caring for things around the house like I’d asked. As much as you can ask a five- and seven-year-old. At least they’re kind boys. Not the kind to give their mother grief like I did as a kid.

It isn’t her fault she’s so fragile these days. After he…

Keep reading with a 7-day free trial